Good Morning From The Final Day Of The Scottish Mortgage Investment Trust Edinburgh Cup 2015

The morning of the big finale is finally here and the teams are preparing to go afloat for what has the potential to be one of the biggest Edinburgh Cup showdowns in history.  Racing gets underway at 10.00 and if conditions permit the committee will run three more races, so it’s still anyone’s game.

The Edinburgh Cup truly is one of the most prestigious and historic trophies in British yachting.  This is the 68th running of the Edinburgh Cup, but only the twelfth time it has been raced for in Scotland, the last of which was also on the Clyde in 2003.  It has been won by 46 different people and the most prolific winner is Rory Bowman, whose name is engraved on the trophy no less than six times.  In fact Rory was set to add his name for a seventh time in 1986 on Strangford Lough when he was jointly leading the regatta with Terry Wade, but insufficient races were completed and the trophy could not be awarded.  Rory’s nearest rival in number of wins is the legendary Poul Richard Hoj-Jensen who has won the Edinburgh Cup five times.  The names of the winners reads like a who’s who of British yachting and a full list of winners can be found on

To date the Edinburgh Cup has never been won by a woman and so regatta leader Julia Bailey and her team aboard Aimee are poised to make history if they can retain their lead through today’s racing.

It’s going to be a tense and exciting day on the water so stay tuned folks!

This entry was posted in News, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s